My Adaptation of a Lemon Almond Tart

wp_20161214_006

…Ok, ok… I supposed that yo had notice that I am a HUGE fan of Naturally Sassy. She and I share many things in common and when I first knew about her, I was shocked because I could not believe that there was another ballerina and entrepreneur oriented to a healthy lifestyle and that like me, is young and has its own food blog. I began to follow her on Instagram and visiting her blog. She posts these amazing, fun, delicious and healthy recipes and I had cook many of them like: Mango Cheesecake Squares, Pecan & Caramel Dessert Pots, Raw Gingerbread Slices and the last one: Lemon Almond Tart!

The dough smelled like vanilla crackers in the oven, the filling…please, let not talk about it; it has the color of almonds and the citric flavor of lemons. I used lemon extract because I did not have lemons on my tree but if you have fresh lemons, go for it!

I had never made a lemon curd in my life and I am very happy that this one was my first one, thanks Naturally Sassy. This VEGAN DESSERT has simple ingredients that create a dish to die for!

Definitely, almond with lemon is a great combination for a dessert because it turns to have a balanced flavor and texture. Just like peanut spread and bananas!

wp_20161214_003

Ingredients:

yield: 2 8in pan or 18 squares

Crust:

2 cups oat flour

1 cup whole oats

3/4 cup Almond Spread

3T organic agave

Filling:

1T lemon extract

2 cups sliced almonds

1/2 cup coconut milk

1/2 cup organic coconut oil

1/2 cup organic agave

Topping:

Berries

wp_20161214_001

Procedure:

Crust:

1- Pre heat the oven at 180ºC.

2- In a bowl mix all of the ingredients really well.

3- In two square or round pans, press the crust firmly.

4- Put it in the oven for 20minutes.

Filling:

1- While the crust is heating in the oven, add all of the ingredients of the filling in the food processor and press until well mixed.

2- Once done, add it to the crust and garnish with berries.

3- Cover and chill in the fridge for two ours. After that, the tart is ready to eat!

Leave a comment